Community Council

Next Community Council meeting: Thursday 9 August 2018, 7.00 pm at the village hall. All welcome. To view the latest minutes of the council meetings, see the link in the green box to the right.
Please e-mail the Community Council at the following address – The following have been elected to serve on  the Barr Community Council until 31 March 2019. Hamish Denham, Chair Merlin Corbett, Vice Chair Jackie Logan, Secretary Tom Copeland, Treasurer Matt Cross John Donaldson Isabel Kay Mark Smith Alexander Tait
South Ayrshire Council expresses its commitment to ‘inclusive democracy’ through the Community Council scheme, stating: “The general purpose of a Community Council is to ascertain, co-ordinate and express the wider views of the entire community within its agreed boundaries. Community Councils will seek to represent and include all sections of their communities. It is the responsibility of a Community Council to satisfy South Ayrshire Council, that they have taken positive steps to ascertain the views of the wider community within their area, before making representations on any matter, on behalf of the community.” Meetings are held in the Barr Village Hall on the second Thursday of the month at 7.00pm. Members of the public are most welcome to attend. Once members have approved the draft minutes as a true record, the minutes are passed to South Ayrshire Council. If you wish to contact the Community Council please address all communications to the Secretary.   The council is constituted and administered through South Ayrshire Council. A police officer will attend and give a report on matters relating to the village and surrounding area.

Barr Community Council Small Grants Fund (up to £500)

Please complete a BCC Small Grants Application Form and return it to Barr Community Council. To be considered at the next council meeting, please hand in your completed form to a Barr Community Councillor at least a week before the meeting.

Assel Valley Community Fund

The Assel Valley Community Fund is now in operation and is inviting funding applications. It is administered by Foundation Scotland. To find out who can apply and how to do so follow this link and please read the Fund Factsheet.

Carrick Futures Community Benefit Fund

Please see Carrick Futures Web site for recent changes to application procedures, updates and news. Please read Standard fund (£500-3500) guidelines before downloading a Carrick Futures Standard Grant Application Form or completing online.

Hadyard Hill Community Fund

Applications and guidelines from the main fund and the small fund can be found on their website:  Hadyard Hill Web Site. See ‘How to apply’.

N.B. Applications for the smaller funds from Barr Community Council must be handed in to the Council at least one week before the Council’s meeting.

Transport Issues

Feb 2017 Following the intial Carrick Survey (see below), Barr  Community Council and community representatives met with SPT and discussed our lack of adequate transport. Another local survey was issued and a subsequent pilot plan agreed, based on its findings, proposing to re-instate a scheduled service 4 times a day, 3 days a week. This SPT service has now been successful in its joint bid for LEADER funding with Barr Community also contributing, and starts May 1st 2017. Timetables and costs can be seen here. The Barr – Girvan bus will also be available to book between scheduled days through SACTG (see below). The MyBus dial up service (telephone 0141 333 4584 or 0845 128 4025) will not be affected and available to book as usual during the pilot first year of service.  The newly formed South Ayrshire Community Transport Group are to utilise Kyle Community Transport fleet, Carrick Community Transport and others, to offer a centralised service of community buses for hire across South Ayrshire. N.B. Barr Community Association is already affiliated with Carrick Community Transport and able to organise transport for small outings and trips for village groups.
Barr Parish Development Company Ltd. ~ set up by Barr Community Council
Raising the Barr


  • To provide, or assist in providing, recreational facilities, which will be available to members of the community and public at large with the object of improving the conditions of life of the community.
  • To advance community development, including regeneration within the community.
  • To advance the education of the community about its environment, culture, heritage and history.
  • To advance environmental protection or improvement including sustainable development and conservation of the natural environment.
                                                                                                                                                                                                                         Isabel Kay, Treasurer                                                                                                                                                                                                                           Tom Copeland                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       Matt Cross                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             John Donaldson                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 Mark Smith                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Alexander Tait